Saturday 6th May 2023 7.30 p.m.

Spring Concert Celebrating the Coronation of King Charles III

Holy Innocents, Fallowfield (view map here)

ElgarCockaigne (In London Town)
Ethel SmythConcerto for violin and horn
Vaughan WilliamsA London Symphony
Note: This is a revised programme compared to that previously advertised

Juan Ortuno | conductor

John Resek | leader

Michael Vernon | violin

Katie Jones | horn

Our spring concert celebrates the coronation of King Charles III.

The celebrations begin with Elgar’s lively and colourful musical portrait of Edwardian London, his concert overture Cockaigne (In London Town), which portrays various aspects of turn-of-the-century London and Londoners. This concert of British composers will then continue when Gorton Philharmonic Orchestra’s violinist Michael Vernon (left) is joined by horn player Katie Jones (right), making her debut appearance with Gorton Philharmonic, to perform Victorian composer and Suffragette Ethel Smyth’s under-rated and virtuosic ‘Double’ Concerto. The celebrations will conclude with ‘A London Symphony’, composed by Vaughan Williams and dedicated to friend and fellow British composer George Butterworth; premiered at the Queen’s Hall, London, in 1914. The work includes, amongst others, a musical interpretation of a murky London fog, distant Westminster chimes, an evocation of Bloomsbury Square on a November afternoon, the bright city lights of London and a night voyage down the River Thames into the open sea in what Vaughan-Williams described as his favourite of the eight symphonies he composed.

Concert venue address:

Holy Innocents Church, 2 Wilbraham Rd, Fallowfield, Manchester M14 6JZ

Tickets :

Available on the door from 7 p.m. Advance tickets are available online.
Price: £8 ( £7 concessions, accompanied children FREE).